ProgrammerGuide.Net | Step by Step Programmer Guide

What are the core components of WCF service?

WCF or also known as Windows Communication Foundation is a communication framework that facilitates the interaction between communication frameworks. These communication frameworks are ASMC/WSE, .NET REMOTING, DCOM/COM, and MSMQ. WCF will then integrate them into one model.

The main importance of why we use WCF is that it increases the productivity of learning one specific programming model instead of learning many. This is needed because each framework has its models and for better understanding, it is advised and recommended to learn them separately.

The other benefit of WCF is that a code written in one way has many communication ways. You have a plethora of options and this is due to WCF.

Components of WCF

WCF has three main components which are common to all. These are:

  1. Address
  2. Binding
  3. Contract

All three have their function and help in better facilitation among the communication framework.

  1. Address

This component is sometimes referred to as the endpoint. As the name suggests, it represents the location or address of the service. It specifies the protocol and host for using the service.

  1. Bindings

You might say this is the important component because it is where specific tasks are completed. Some examples of these tasks are how to send a message, which protocol to use, how does a client interact with the service and more. It also deals with security and its constraints.

  1. Contract

The third and last component of WCF is Contract. This component allows you to define the methods you want to work with. This component is where the interaction between the client and the service is seen.

Please click here for related products on Amazon!


Add comment

Want to Check Celebrities News?